KKIFF 2017 Winners!

YB Datuk Joniston Bangkuai, Chairperson Sabah Tourism Board, Mr Gordon Yapp, GM Sabah Tourism Board, Rita Lasimbang, CEO Kadazandusun Language Foundation,Roger Wang, President SPArKS, with Sabah Film Academy participants, BUZZ10 winners and protagonists.

AWARDS NIGHT – KKIFF 2017 – list of winners



  1. Silver Kinabalu Award – Masoud Soheili (Indonesia) for HEAVEN OF CHILDREN – sponsored by SPArKS
  2. Golden Kinabalu Award – Kubendera M.S. Mahadevan (Malaysia) for SI TOMMY – sponsored by Kopi Cap Kuda

Citation: For portraying a sensitive issue, and that of senseless prejudice, depicted in a simple, effective and entertaining manner through the art of cinema.

  1. Jury Award – BUS STOP by Tusilya Muthukumar (Malaysia)
  2. Special Mention Award – Geraldyn Acibron (Philippines) for TUBOD


  1. Silver Kinabalu Award – Ko Oo (Myanmar) for ZERO LEVEL – sponsored by the Sabah Tourism Board
  2. Golden Kinabalu Award – Mzung (Vietnam) for WHEN OUR GARDENS GROW SILENT – sponsored by the Sabah Tourism Board

Citation: A plaintive piece about how development is destroying nature. With meaningful visuals and narration, it is a subtle and poetic reminder that humankind needs nature in order to survive.

  1. Jury Award – Yow Chong Lee (Malaysia) for LIVING ALONE ON BUNG JAGOI
  2. Special Mention Award (1) – Sanjaythiyan Santhian (Malaysia) for UNSUNG
  3. Special Mention Award (2) – M Iskandar Tri Gunawan (Indonesia) for THE LIGHT OF HOPE


  1. Special Mention – Ester Saminding (Sabah) for TONTOLU
  2. Golden Kinabalu Award – Kwan Thung Seng (Sabah) for HELLO PIRIT – sponsored by the Kadazandusun Language Foundation


  1. Best Sabahan Entry – HELLO PIRIT by Kwan Thung Seng – sponsored by Santola Café
  2. Special Mention – SHELTER by Charles Hazo
  3. Special Mention – for Best Fight Choreography – Muhd Nazri Bin Walkie for DIARI PEMBUNUH / KILLER’S DIARY
  4. Special Mention – for Cinematography – Mzung for WHEN OUR GARDENS GROW SILENT
  5. Special Mention – for Editing – Geraldyn Acibron for TUBOD
  6. People’s Award (online voting) – Michelle Xin for A moment of regret – sponsored by JuiceSky
  1. Mentors’ AwardsPutri Purnama Sugua and Aidil Bin Razali
  2. Limkokwing University of Creative Technology Scholarship – for the Best Emerging Filmmaker – Tay Sheik Er – a full scholarship in the Multimedia / Animation and Professional Communication programme